Monday, June 17, 2013

Gluten: What is it?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats.
Gluten is the composite of a prolamin and a glutelin, which exist,
conjoined with starch, in the endosperm of various grass-
related grains. Gliadin, a water-soluble, and glutenin, a water-
soluble, (the prolamin and glutelin from wheat) compose about
80% of the protein contained in wheat seed. Being insoluble in
water, they can be purified by washing away the associated starch.
Worldwide, gluten is a source of protein, both in foods prepared
directly from sources containing it, and as an additive to foods
otherwise low in protein.
Sources of gluten or items that may contain gluten:
Ales, Barley, Barley Malt/extract, Beer & Lagers, Bran,
Breading, Broth, Brown rice syrup, Bulgur, Candy coating,
Communion "wafers", Couscous, Croutons, Durum, Einkorn,
Emmer, Farina, Farro, Gloss & balms, Graham flour, Herbal
blends, Imitation crab & seafood, Kamut, Lipstick, Luncheon
meat, Malt, Makeup, Marinades, Matzo flour/meal, Meat/sausages,
Medications, Orzo, Panko, Pasta, Play dough, Roux, Rye, Sauces,
Seitan, Self-basting poultry, Semolina, Soup base, Soy sauce, Spelt,
Spice blends, Stuffing, Supplements, Thickeners, Triticale, Udon,
Vinegar (malt only), Vital wheat, Vitamins, Wafers, Wheat, Wheat
bran, Wheat germ, Wheat starch, and many more...
-Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo, BS, NC