Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Jelly Belly

Jelly Belly Recalls Their Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix Bags Due To False “Gluten-Free” Label

"Recently, Jelly Belly released their Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix that was stamped as “Gluten-Free.” However, according to the California Department of Public Health, Jelly Belly has put into effect a nationwide recall of this product because the malt milk eggs contain wheat.

When asked about this health issue Jelly Belly replied, “We found the error very early in the distribution and recalled the product immediately.”

For future reference, usually Jelly Belly candies are “Gluten-Free,” but this particular bag is mixed with products that are not jelly beans, which have canceled the “Gluten-Free” friendliness of them.

Specific Recall Details

Assortment: Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix “Gluten-Free” Candies

Size: 2.7 ounce bags

UPC number: 071567992794"